Pediatric Hospital Medicine 2017 Awards

As has been the tradition for the past 2 years, awards will be presented to distinguished pediatric hospital medicine colleagues during the PHM 2017 conference. Awards will be presented to those individuals (or groups) that have contributed to our field over the past year within the following categories: Quality and Patient Safety, Research, Education, Clinical Care, and Collaborative Impact (team project).

The PHM 2017 Awards Committee is seeking nominations for the categories above.  To nominate yourself or another individual for one of the PHM Awards, please use the below linked nominations form.

Nominations have closed. Deadline was: Friday, April 14, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. EST

Award recipients will be presented with their awards on Saturday, July 22 at 1:15 p.m. immediately before the Top Articles presentation.

This award is designed to celebrate significant achievements by a pediatric hospitalist in the areas of quality improvement and patient safety during the prior year. Applicants are encouraged to demonstrate broad dissemination and sustainability of successful initiatives. Third-party nominations are encouraged but self-nominations may also be submitted.
This award highlights exceptional achievement by an investigator in the field of pediatric hospital medicine research during the prior year. Impact on a large number of hospitalized children will receive priority as will particularly creative research ideas. Special consideration will be given to nominees with outstanding future promise in pediatric hospital medicine research. Third-party nominations are encouraged but self-nominations may also be submitted.
This award recognizes an individual making outstanding contributions to the educational aspects of pediatric hospital medicine during the prior year. Examples might include advancement of the field through curriculum development, creation of innovative teaching techniques, or a truly inspirational teacher. Priority will be given to individuals that demonstrate objective evidence of teaching effectiveness. Outstanding creativity or novel ideas are also viewed favorably. Third-party nominations are encouraged but self-nominations may be submitted.
This award recognizes a pediatric hospitalist who is an excellent leader in the advancement of clinical care of hospitalized children. Nominees for this award should exhibit one or more of the following qualifiers: (1) Evidence of outstanding contributions to clinical care through the development of clinical services or teams that have improved patient care; (2) Excellence in practice management as evidenced by improved value or growth of services; (3) Exemplary role modeling of professionalism in Hospital Medicine to colleagues, learners and patients; and, (4) Outstanding leadership in or advocacy for Pediatric Hospital Medicine at the local, regional or national level.
This award recognizes a group that has worked collaboratively on a project relevant to the field of pediatric hospital medicine. Projects with the potential to have a significant impact on children’s health and/or the practice of hospital pediatrics are encouraged. Projects will be considered in the fields of Quality Improvement, Education and Research. Evidence of multi-disciplinary collaboration is encouraged. Single institution or multi-institution projects will be considered. Third-party nominations are encouraged but self-nominations may be submitted.

PHM Awards Committee:

Francisco Alvarez, MD, Chair, PHM Awards Committee:
Annie Andrews, MD, Member, PHM Awards Committee,
Lindsay Chase, MD, Member, PHM Awards Committee,
Jennifer O’Toole, MD Member, PHM Awards Committee,
Kris Rhem, MD, Member, PHM Awards Committee, kris.rehm@Vanderbilt.Edu

Questions regarding the awards process? Please contact any of the members of the Awards Committee or Staff Liaison, Samantha Regosch at